Practice One

Position: 10th – 56.1169s

Fastest: Garth Tander – 55.6459s

Practice Two

Position: 15th – 55.6524s

Fastest: Shane Van Gisbergen – 54.7762


COMING UP (Local Times)

Saturday 6th May

9:15-10:00 – Practice Three

11:55-12:10 – Qualifying

14:45-15:45 – Race Seven – 120kms / 50 Laps

Sunday 7th May

10:55-11:15 – Qualifying

14:15-15:45 – Race Eight - 200kms / 83 Laps



The times tumbled today at Barbagallo Raceway, by the end of practice two, Shane Van Gisbergen had set a new lap record of 54.7762 seconds. For Freightliner Racing’s Tim Slade, his times dropped by almost half a second between the two sessions. Tim was in the top ten for the majority of both sessions and for the latter part of the second session he was sitting in the top three. With most teams opting to put new tyres on at the end of the session, the order changed significantly in those final minutes, and saw Tim finish the second practice session in fifteenth position.


TIM “It was hard to get a read on changes here today as the tyre grip levels were changing from run to run. We had a bit of traffic on the last run, so we lost a little bit of time there but it was nice to run in the top ten for the majority of the two sessions. I think we’ll find a bit more time again tomorrow. There were a few gains made in the other BJR cars, so we’ll go through the data tonight and see how we can maximise on it all.”

“Qualifying is going to be important to ensure you can start as far forward as you can, but tyres will play a big part in the races tomorrow and Sunday, as degradation is a big factor at the Barbagallo circuit. We need manage our tyres as best as possible.”



Saturday 6th May

10:30-10:45 – Autograph Session @ Freightliner Racing Stand in Merchandise Alley

Sunday 7th May

9:00-9:30 – Autograph Session @ Freightliner Racing Stand in Merchandise Alley



LIKE US on Facebook ‘Freightliner Racing’  


Twitter: @freightlinerv8 / @_timslade_  

Instagram @freightlinerracing / @_timslade_

Published: 05 May 2017.

#14 Tim Slade

Freightliner Racing

© Copyright 2018 Brad Jones Racing