Qualified: 12th – 1:28.7224s

Pole Position: Scott McLaughlin – 1:27.9494s


Race 21 – 300kms / 77 Laps

Finished: 10th

Winner: Shane Van Gisbergen



Fans have waited over twenty years to see the Supercars race again under lights on their home soil; and last night’s inaugural Sydney SuperNight event did not disappoint with 34,000 fans trackside and over a million more tuning into their TV’s to watch the 300km spectacle.


After a solid effort in the practice sessions, Tim made his way into the second round of qualifying and found himself starting the race from 12th. After some close wheel to wheel action on the opening laps, Tim was sent wide by James Golding, and later spun by Cameron Waters who received a 15 second penalty for the incident.


Tim’s driving was outstanding, and he fought his way back to finish 10th. The efforts saw him move up to 9th in the championship, and with team-mate Nick Percat also finishing inside the top ten, the duo have bolstered the Brad Jones Racing squad to 4th in the team’s championship.



“The Freightliner Racing Commodore felt pretty good out on track last night, there were a couple of moments where I felt a bit vulnerable and people were throwing a few dive bombs. One of the moves was wheel to wheel and it knocked the steering wheel out of my hand. I went off track and lost a couple of spots, then fought to make them back up and was harpooned by Waters at turn two and had to press on as best I could after that.”


“The car still felt really good, so it gave me some solid motivation to keep pushing hard. The second stint felt strong and I was hoping the pace would keep up and alongside with our strategy be enough to move us forward towards the end.”


“I think the Freightliner Racing Commodore was really competitive throughout the race and has good speed, we just need to keep unlocking some more things in qualifying.”


“It was great to have team-mate Nick Percat and I finish inside the top ten as it’s really valuable for the team points, especially at a race with massive points like this. There is still some work to do but we can leave Sydney pretty happy.”



Round 11 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship

OTR SuperSprint

The Bend Motorsport Park, Tailem Bend, SA

24 – 26 August 2018



1 – Scott McLaughlin - 2575

2 – Shane Van Gisbergen - 2490

3 – Jamie Whincup - 2146

4 – David Reynolds - 2030

5 – Fabian Coulthard - 1796

9 – Tim Slade – 1397

Published: 05 August 2018.

#14 Tim Slade

Freightliner Racing

© Copyright 2019 Brad Jones Racing