Practice Four

Finished: 15th – 1:09.3218s

Fastest: Scott McLaughlin – 1:08.3985s


Qualified: 20th 1:09.5715s

Pole Position: Scott McLaughlin – 1:08.5133s

Race 20 – 200kms/65 Laps

Finished: 17th

Winner: Scott McLaughlin



It was the final day of racing at the Ipswich SuperSprint, with a 200km battle closing out the weekend. As the first qualifying session was coming to an end, a brake issue with stable-mate Macauley Jones’ Team CoolDrive Supercar saw him stop on track, bringing out the red flag. The drivers that were on their fast lap were unable to finish it, which would see Tim qualify in 20th.


The team wanted to make a change in the car for the race, however the new parc ferme rule doesn’t allow for changes unless the team takes a penalty. The team opted to take the penalty which put Tim to the rear of the grid for the start of the race. Knowing the Freightliner Racing Supercar had speed, Tim was confident in picking up a few places on track today. In a race that ran from green flag to chequered flag, Tim moved forward to finish in 17th.


The Freightliner Racing team will have a short break before heading to South Australia for the 10th round of the Supercars Championship in South Australia, as they return to The Bend Motorsport Park for the second year running.



“We didn’t get to post a fast lap during qualifying due to the late red flag. We were on a better lap in the Freightliner Racing Supercar as the red flag came out; I’m not sure exactly where it would have put us in the order if we got to complete it but that’s just how it is.”


“We then made a change during parc ferme which dropped us to the back of the starting order, which isn’t a huge deal when you’re back that far already. It was going to be tough, and whilst we passed a few cars it would have been great to crack that top 15. We were close.”



OTR SuperSprint

23 – 25 August 2019

The Bend Motorsport Park

Tailem Bend, SA



1 – Scott McLaughlin - 2438

2 – Fabian Coulthard - 2005

3 – Shane Van Gisbergen - 1918

4 – Chaz Mostert - 1898

5 – Jamie Whincup - 1798

15 – Tim Slade - 1203

Published: 28 July 2019.

#14 Tim Slade

Freightliner Racing

© Copyright 2019 Brad Jones Racing